Skip to main content

Authorization Roles (ACLs)

Authorization Roles enable or disable areas and functions of FleetWatcher.

Introduction:

The FleetWatcher system is governed by a series of ACLs, or the Access Control List, that either enables or disables certain areas and functions of the system for each user. These ACLs are maintained by your organization’s FleetWatcher administrator, and are not to be taken lightly. A user who, for example, has never received training on how to add a piece of equipment into the FleetWatcher system should not have access to the Manage Equipment section. A FleetWatcher administrator, by contrast, should be able to access all areas of the FleetWatcher system in order to ensure that everything is running smoothly.

Navigation:

To access this feature

Go to:Manage > People > Authorization Roles


  • Once you have created a user in the FleetWatcher system, the ability to add or update the ACL for that user becomes available on the user’s information page.

  • A newly-created user is only granted access to log into the FleetWatcher system. Every other option must be decided by the FleetWatcher administrator.

  • Everything with a manage, modify, or move in front of the ACL name allows the user to change things within the FleetWatcher system.

    • Without proper training, a user with access to these can make unauthorized changes in the system, resulting in incorrect or lost data.

  • Users with access to these features should be limited, and all users who receive this access should be trained by their FleetWatcher representative.

  • Most options with a report in front of the ACL name provide read-only access, though there are some exceptions noted in the table below in red.

    • (Report, Report KPI Edit, Report 3rd Party Safety) These allow the users to access various reports in the system, and all users should have access to the reports that will assist them in their day-to-day job duties.

  • The WebSvcRead and WebSvcWrite are for third party applications to access FleetWatcher in order to either push or pull data between the two.

    • NOTE: If the user you are creating is a live user, do not check these boxes. Doing so will remove that user’s ability to log in.


The following steps will help you create, rename, delete, clone, or modify existing roles.


Add New Role +:

  1. Click on the blue Add New Role + button.

  2. Enter a name for the new role.

  3. Clicking each section to expand the sections to the left.

    • Select individual checkboxes or use the (blue) Check All box to select ACLs in each section.

  4. Click Save, a confirmation window will appear. Click OK.


Renaming a Role:

Renaming a role can improve clarity for users and administrators by ensuring the role name reflects its specific permissions. For instance, if a role labeled “Equipment Manager” includes permissions that are restricted to viewing only, you might rename it to “Equipment Viewer” to prevent confusion. Clear, descriptive role names help users understand their access levels at a glance.

  1. Click the blue Rename button to expand the row.

  2. Use the text box to alter the name.

  3. Click Save, the message "Authorization Role Name updated successfully" will appear in green text.


Delete A Role:

Delete a role if it is outdated or no longer needed, such as when departments merge, roles are consolidated, or permissions have changed, to prevent unnecessary access or confusion in the system.

  1. Find the role and click the red Delete button.

    • If users are assigned to the role, a "Switch Users to Proceed" page will appear.

    • A list of Login Names will display that are associated with this role.

    • Use the dropdown box under Authorization Role to select a new role for the user.

    • After all users have been assigned a new role, Click Proceed.

  2. Click Proceed and the page will display WARNING: Continuing will cause the role.

    • A Role may be deleted only after all users have been removed.

    • Note the warning message "The underlying ACLs will not be deleted" is there to let the customer know that the "role" is deleted not the actual ACL.

  3. Click Delete, a confirmation window will appear. Click OK.


Clone ACL:

Allows you to create variations of access levels by cloning existing ones, making it easy to adjust permissions without starting from scratch. This feature is useful when different roles require specific levels of access to the same areas of the system.

For example:

  • A Trucking Manager may need the “manage equipment” access level, which provides full permissions to add, edit, and delete equipment.

  • A Mechanic may only need a “Read-Only Equipment” access level to view the equipment list without making changes.

To set up access levels,

  1. Click the blue Clone ACL button to open the ACL window.

  2. In the top left corner, rename the cloned ACL.

  3. Modify the selection for the new ACL.

  4. Click Save, a confirmation window will appear. Click OK.


View/Edit:

The View/Edit option enables you to view a role’s details and make changes as need.

  1. Click the green View/Edit button to open the view/edit window.

  2. Use the Authorization Role window to make changes.

  3. Click Save, a confirmation message will appear. Click OK.

Did this answer your question?